Forums

Forums Categories

Members

advice.

(6 posts) (5 voices)
Started 1 year, 5 months ago ago by Steven
Latest reply from Steven 1 year, 5 months ago ago

Steven
  • Ok this is my first year doing ragbria. From what i understand we are only alowed a 50 pound bag for the truck to carrie. I have a mountain bike with road tires and was wondering if it would be a smart move to buy a trailer for whatever else i may want to carry with me that may not be on the trailer or i may not want on the trailer. Or should i stick to panears?

Posted 1 year, 5 months ago ago #502746

Dan in Iowa
  • Fifty pounds is a lot more than you think it is. I traveled from Iowa to New Orleans pulling a trailer and my whole load, including the trailer, was just under 5o pounds. That included an entire kitchen too. Think a bag the size of a parachute bag, which is what I’ve actually used in the past, and you’ll be fine! I use a handlebar bag to carry my daily stuff. You’ll be fine. Daily I carry my money (waterproof pouch), an extra tube, patch kit (I have a frame pump, but you can always find someone with a pump), sunscreen, lip balm and a multi-tool. I might throw in a cloth to wipe the sweat off. Simplify. That old adage about KISS…..Keep It Simple Stupid…..holds true.

Posted 1 year, 5 months ago ago #502747

murphymp
  • I think you will be find with 50 lbs. I have done Ragbrai 4 times and take less every year.

Posted 1 year, 5 months ago ago #502749

Michrider
  • Steven, you don’t need to carry much on your bike. Most riders will carry 2 water bottles, in cages and whatever else they need in jersey pockets. We’ll be in Iowa, not in the middle of the Sahara!!!!

Posted 1 year, 5 months ago ago #502752

petra