RAGBRAI XLII Countdown – July 20-26, 2014
Friends of RAGBRAI

Forums

Any TRIKE RIDERS out there?….newbie questions

(14 posts) (9 voices)
Started 11 months, 3 weeks ago ago by Kim Halyak
Latest reply from Kim Halyak 11 months, 3 weeks ago ago

Kim Halyak
  • Hi everyone, I am new to Ragbrai and new to biking…make that triking—didn’t take up riding until 3 yrs ago at the age of 53….but I love it….My hubby and I purchased the Terra Trike Rovers and have ridden greenline trails in TN, MS, ID, OR, and AL. I am excited about doing the Ragbrai but nervous, too. Having mild Cerebral Palsy and only average about 12 mph. What Triking tips can you share that will make our two days on the Ragbrai successful?
    1. Do you use your safety flag on Ragbrai? I hear the headwinds can be strong.
    2. How bad are the hills in your estimation?
    3. How many other trike riders will there be?
    4. Best way to carry small items on trike–favorite packs, etc?
    Thanks everyone for your suggestions.

Posted 11 months, 3 weeks ago ago #500211

Ragbrai Nation
  • Not necessary to tote a warning flag because there are so many bikes almost all motorists will (or must) avoid the route. You’ll see a few American, foreign, military, team, special purpose an custom-made flags. Flags can add a tremendous amount of unwanted drag on the warm/humid or windy days.

In looking at you ride experience in the many states you have ridden I don’t think you’ll find Iowa hills to be any more difficult than what you have already experienced. Train like you lost your mind but keep it fun. DO NOT train the week leading up to the ride.

You will see virtually everything than can be ridden on one, two, three and possibly four wheels, including week-long riders on trikes, skateboards, inline skates, unicycles, you name it. You’ll be in great company!

Terra may have an accessory for your trike enabling you to carry the items you will need and want to carry. You’ll have a great time. Good Luck!!