The Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa

Hawarden

I will be coming in Saturday afternoon and would like to make the ride to Hawarden but don’t think i’ll have enough time. Does anyone know if there will be people giving rides from Orange City to Hawarden? Would like to say I crossed the whole state being this is my first attempt at RAGBRAI. If not this could be a goal for next year!

Bob

13 Replies

Profile photo of Amanda
Amanda, May 20, 2017 at 7:59 am

Did you have a comment? I don’t see it.

Profile photo of Bob
Bob Kidd, May 20, 2017 at 8:44 am

Try this again

I will be coming in Saturday afternoon and would like to make the ride to Hawarden but don’t think i’ll have enough time. Does anyone know if there will be people giving rides from Orange City to Hawarden? Would like to say I crossed the whole state being this is my first attempt at RAGBRAI. If not this could be a goal for next year!

Bob

Profile photo of Ken
KenH, May 22, 2017 at 7:05 am

I believe Amanda is from OC so she would be a good person to get information from. I don’t know why she did not see your post, I can see the original and the repost just fine. It would be nice if the RAGBRAI SAG vans and trailers could be enlisted to provide this service for those who like to ride coast to coast in years when the start town is not on the border. Just saying….

Failing that, locals with pickup trucks and crew cabs could make a few bucks ferrying folks to the border. If nothing official is organized, one could always approach someone getting into a pickup and ask them if they’d be willing. During RAGBRAI week ploys like this tend to get positive responses.

But I think I will write the RAGBRAI help desk and suggest that the SAG teams be available to ferry folks to the border.

Profile photo of Bob
Bob Kidd, May 22, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Ken, thanks for the idea and digging deeper into this! I’m sure there would be a number of people wanting to hitch a ride to Hawarden.