Forums Categories

• Categories

• Topics

Members

Last night in Lansing?

(15 posts) (12 voices)
Started 2 months, 1 week ago by Vicky van den Berg
Latest reply from Joe Gavin 2 months ago

This topic contains 14 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Joe Joe Gavin 2 months ago.

I’m a newbie and wondering to most people spend the night at the last town (ie Lansing) after day 7 of riding or do they tend to meet up with their groups and head on home? I’m heading to Cedar Rapids so would be an easy drive that night.

• Profile photo of Vicky
    Vicky van den Berg
  • I’m a newbie and wondering to most people spend the night at the last town (ie Lansing) after day 7 of riding or do they tend to meet up with their groups and head on home? I’m heading to Cedar Rapids so would be an easy drive that night.

Posted 2 months, 1 week ago ago #1234306

• Profile photo of R-Daryl
    R-Daryl Daryl
  • Although camping will be available in Lansing on Saturday night, not many riders stay the night. Saturday’s ride is a “hurry up an go” day with sag service times ending mid afternoon.

Posted 2 months, 1 week ago ago #1234374

• Profile photo of Kevin
    Gypsy Rose
  • Sadly, the last day of the ride has a vibe that is quite different from the first six days. Most riders are rushing to the river, packing up and getting out of town. I really wish it wasn’t that way. The folks that I ride with enjoy lingering on the final day, reluctant for the week to end. Somewhere between 5 and 10 miles away from the finish, we gather under a shady tree, with panniers full of cold beer to wait for the unicyclists in our group to catch up before riding to the Mississippi together. By the time we reach the river most other riders from the week are well on way home. We camp for the night, enjoy a final breakfast together on Sunday, then reluctantly leave RAGBRAI for another year.