Forums

Forums Categories

Members

New to this any help or suggestions

(7 posts) (7 voices)
Started 1 year, 9 months ago ago by scott
Latest reply from OhioCyclone 1 year, 7 months ago ago

scott
  • I am new to biking, started this summer and I am looking for some ideas for training in teh aOmaha area. Couple of questoins also.

Are there any other bikers on here who have disabilites, mine is spina bifida. I was wondering if there is way I can make this into a fund raiser type of ride for research, also I have had a kideny transplant so there is another area I belong too. I dont know if I can do something like this on the ride but was just putting that idea out there. I am a lone rider and wont be knowing anyone on the ride and just want to meet some people to get started working out this winter until i can go outside again. Sorry to ramble, many questions and I am excited to maybe do this.

Posted 1 year, 9 months ago ago #426129

Ed Kanitra
  • Scott,
    While I am not able to answer your exact questions I do have a few thoughts in a more general arena to share with you.

I had a heart attack last Nov. and a stent implanted in June. Before you begin an exercise program, make sure you talk to your doctor about it. I am sure he will tell you to start slow, and listen to your body. I will be riding for The American Heart Association on my ride. Contact the associations that you want to raise funds for and see what help they can provide to you. The AHA has a tool to create a website to make donating easy, and so I don’t have to handle the money.

I too will be a virgin rider, and riding on my own. Let’s try to hook up and ride a little together.

Posted 1 year, 9 months ago ago #426956

Michrider
  • Scott, your local bike shop and/or bike club, can be good resources to find riders of similiar abilities in your area.

Posted 1 year, 9 months ago ago #426992

Sandaltan