Join Us in July - Register Today!

Newbie saying hi!

Hi guys,

I’m a newbie to the RAGBRAI. 2016 is my first year. I’m from San Jose, CA. I plan to sign up for the Brancel’s week long full service. I plan to ride all by myself, not as a group. A few questions.

1. How do I get my bike shipped to the starting town Glenwood and shipped back to San Jose? There’re a few online bike shipping companies. Any recommendations?

2. What’s the nearest town to fly into? Glenwood? I plan to check out the Expo. If I fly in one night before Day 1, where can I stay overnight? I assume I need to find a hotel. I heard the hotels near Glenwood get booked up pretty quickly.

3. If I ship my bike, I need to have it shipped to the town I’m staying the night before, OR ship to the starting town Glenwood? I suppose I need to arrive before my bike arrives so I can sign for it and have it assemble back together(assume I need to box it to ship).

I haven’t quite figure out the order of things yet.

Please help! Thank you.

Shaun

17 Replies

jwsknk, May 25, 2016 at 11:04 am

Omaha is the closest to fly into for the start. The shipper RAGBRAI uses delivers them to the expo area, you could choose to have them assemble or not. Then the ship from near the ending dip site. If round trip ticket for flight there are some charters with bus service across Iowa at the end. or consider flying into and out of Des Moines and bussing with Bike World (or someone) to start and back at end.

Nico ZZZ, May 25, 2016 at 11:04 am

Shaun,
Welcome aboard!
You can fly into Omaha, Nebraska. You can get a bus ride there through some of the charters. I use Pork Belly Ventures for everything: Bus rides, shipping, tent set-up, weeklong support. But they do offer ala carte services so I think you can catch rides with them both from Omaha to Glenwood and a ride back from the end town on the “east coast” of Iowa back to Omaha. Check out PBV website for bus rides and bike shipping.