RAGBRAI XLIII Countdown – July 19-25, 2015
Friends of RAGBRAI

Forums

Now This is Just Plain Nuts

(7 posts) (6 voices)
Started 1 year, 9 months ago ago by “Bicycle Bill”
Latest reply from jwsknk 1 year, 9 months ago ago

“Bicycle Bill”
  • I’ve been cycling seriously since 1972, when I bought my first 10-speed — a Crystal, a Japanese import that was favorably reviewed by Eugene Sloane (author of the early-’70s bike-boom Bible, “The Complete Bike Book”) who was then writing a month cycling column for “Popular Mechanics”, among other things.  Since then I’ve seen a steady quest to reduce the weight of the bicycle itself, which resulted in the use of new and lighter materials (aluminum, titanium, beryllium, carbon fiber, and plastic composites) — as well as a short-lived trend known as “drilling”, where one would take perfectly good components and proceed to perforate them in the interest of saving a couple of dozen grams of dead weight.  The problem was that many people who were wizards with a drill press never knew just when to stop before crossing that fine line at which one was no longer removing superfluous material but was in fact destroying the functional integrity of the component.

Which leads me to this:
    Meet the Delta 7 “Arantix”, a hardtail MTB frameset weighing in at only 2.74 pounds (not sure if that includes the pogo-stick fork).  But look at the makeup of the main frame tubes!!!  They actually look like someone has tried to macramé a bicycle!!!  According to their website, only 200 of these will be sold worldwide; no estimate as to how many will actually be ridden, and of those, how many will survive a couple of trips through some technical singletrack.

No report as yet as to price, but you know these aren’t going to come cheap.

Posted 1 year, 9 months ago ago #389301

ts