Forums

Forums Categories

Members

Shorts, padded or no?

(40 posts) (23 voices)
Started 8 months ago ago by Shanon Knight
Latest reply from Bikemily 7 months, 3 weeks ago ago

Shanon Knight
  • Ok, I am sure this is a bit on the random side, but I started riding fairly regularly last summer. I ride in regular running shorts or tights if it is cold out. I ride regularly 20-40 miles or so at the moment. How much will I regret riding in regular shorts every day for a week? I despise the look and feel of padded rear shorts. I have tried several on and the feel like I am wearing a diaper. I am planning on riding as much as possible from now until RAGBRAI week so figure I should have a pretty good idea how well this will work by then. I do have a seat with a small amount of padding on it, so I’m sure that helps a bit. Just thought I would check with some RAGBRAI regulars and see what they though. :)

Posted 8 months ago ago #751343

Michrider
  • SK, you should wear what works for you!!!!

Posted 8 months ago ago #751345

WrightBrother
  • Shanon: if you are a young’un you can probably get by without padded shorts, but us “older folks” sure do like the padding. Also, using a chamois cream is beneficial, too. I understand about your hesitancy to wear adult diapers. I, too, was hesitant at first; just remember that you won’t have to look at your padded behind, but everyone else will. The padding is there to provide a firm but cushioned ride for your behind. Try riding 100 miles without it, then ride 60 miles the next day. Let your body tell you if it wants the padding or not. After all, when all the other 12,000 riders are wearing the same thing then you end up not noticing them at all.

Posted 8 months ago ago #751347

Amanda
  • I suggest shorts because no shorts will get you in trouble….

Posted 8 months ago ago #751348

jwsknk