Forums

Forums Categories

Members

Training: bike path or street?

(14 posts) (12 voices)
Started 1 year, 9 months ago ago by Jean
Latest reply from trek15rider 1 year, 9 months ago ago

Jean
  • I am new to cycling. I did Ragbrai last year and trained mostly on bike paths.. Experienced cyclists tell me bike paths are dangerous due to the volume and prefer street bike lanes. Just wanted to get opinions of other Ragbrai alum.

Posted 1 year, 9 months ago ago #465825

Ragbrai Nation
  • I mix it up. If I don’t feel like dealing with traffic I hit the trails. If I need to hill-train then I’m on some hilly, rural blacktops. A little of each in the same day, sometimes. 8-)

Posted 1 year, 9 months ago ago #465866

Dan in Iowa
  • Get out on the roads. You can’t train for hill on bike paths. You can’t as easily learn about holding a line on the path unless you ride with a group. You don’t learn about seeing all around you as well as the road does for you since it’s more life and death with the cars! You’ll get more variety on the roads. You don’t say where you live, but here in Iowa, we have tons of paved county roads to choose from that don’t have as much trafic which is nice.

Finally….DON’T EVER TRAIN! It’s just an ugly word. Ride! A lot! Riding is fun and training is, well, training. I know it’s semantics, but you get my drift.

Posted 1 year, 9 months ago ago #465867

“Bicycle Bill”
  • Bike trails are better than nothing, but since most bicycle trails are generally constructed on old railroad rights-of-way they are usually flat as a billiard table and for that reason alone are not all that good for RAGBRAI preparation.  RAGBRAI is not run on bike trails; it is run mostly on the back county roads that Dan referred to above.  And the terrain varies wildly; you’re going to run into rolling hills, steep climbs, long twisty downhills, and more bicycles alongside of you than you can imagine.  That’s what you need to get used to more than anything.