The Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa

Advice for Virgins

Hey watched the film “A Million Spokes” a few weeks ago.  Found it by accident one night really late.  Now watching this film and all the different riders I wanted to get some feedback on if “Weekend Riders” could handle the trip?  It looks doable to me since you can go at your own pace.  Plan on doing a charter thing so I don’t have to haul a tent and all since I will be coming out of Southern California.  Any advice would be great.  Looks like a fun ride and would love to come out and “unplug” for a week or two. 

43 Replies

OhioCyclone, November 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Ppenka, i would samy it is doable. Last year was my first RAGBRAI and I completed 290 miles of the total 454 miles on the trip. I am a graduate student that is unfortunately not able to get out and ride as muchas I would like. I had around 250 training miles spread out between April and the beginning of July. The ride, although I did not finish was one of the hardest and most rewarding expresences of my life. If I would have heeded my peers from this forum and gotten more training prep miles I would have been fine.

They say to get at least the length of the ride in on road riding before the end of July. This is more than manageable in weekend rides if you start at thee right time.

I should also add that I am not exactly in shape. A few knee surgeries and a couple extra forty pounds may have hindered the process. All I k ow is that I will be back for 2012, and my goal is full completion:)

ppenka, November 21, 2011 at 4:27 pm

Hey thanks guys.  I have already started to save my money to do this.  Thinking about the “panpered Peddler” thing.  I have got over 6oo miules on my Specialized and think I would be ok with it.  What about locking your bike?  I have to much $$$$$$$$$$$ invested in mine. 

KittySlayer, November 21, 2011 at 4:29 pm

The bike riding is the easy part. The challenge is all the people and the logistics.