Bike Getting Wet Question

Probably a stupid question but I thought I would ask it here anyway. I am relatively new to RAGBRAI and biking frankly. I am not a bike guru/expert but after moving to Iowa several years ago, I just fell in love with RAGBRAI and the experience. So, now I am a bike rider, so that I can ride RAGBRAI.

I have a new tent this year that is a one person small backpacking tent. Anyway, I will not be able to put my bike in there with me like I have before with my big old tent. So, my question is, with all the heavy, heavy dew we experience in July in Iowa, will my bike, chain, gears, etc, etc be ok out each night in the heavy dew and or rain? And, other than a quick wipe down in the morning before I take off for the day, is there anything else I should be doing to my wet bike. I was thinking of bringing a piece of plastic to cover it each night, thoughts??

If it makes any difference, my bike is a 2013 Specialized Secteur Elite, pretty sure its aluminum but again, not a bike expert yet, just a lover of riding and RAGBRAI. Thanks for any info, input or tips, appreciate it!

12 Replies

trek2300, May 28, 2018 at 2:29 pm

Kraig:
If you really love your bike, you’ll let it stay in the tent while you sleep outside under a tarp!

Your 2013 Spec is an alu frame that, if memory serves me, has a Tiagra drive train. If the chain and drive train is well lubed, dew will have minimal impact. Besides, you’ll probably have to lube things numerous times on the ride anyway. That being said, if you have room, covering the bike with a very thin plastic sheet will protect it. But then you have to decide what to do with a drippy plastic tarp in the morning.

Some will argue that a wax based lube won’t last as long as an oil based in wet weather but that can turn into a lengthy argument. Personally, I use wax because I hate chain tattoos but wax is more labor intensive.