The Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa

Bike Recommendation

Hi, I’m a newbie, looking to buy a used bike appropriate for RAGBRAI. But I have no idea what to look for. I’m 5’1″, so I need something to accommodate my height. What should I look for and where should I look for a reasonably priced used bike? Thanks for any input you can provide.

8 Replies

Roy Trent, April 14, 2018 at 5:38 pm

I personally like a carbon road bike because I do not want to push the extra weight of a different type bike with larger tires. However, since RAGBRAI is more of a casual ride with lots of stops, a good hybrid with medium width tires will be a very comfortable ride. My son and daughter each have a Trek FX 72. They are very good for 60 or so miles but I don’t think they I would want to ride it 100 miles. Also, it has a triple crank so if you do not like to work hard on the hills you can just go to the small chainring and spin up hill.

T. Gap Woo, April 14, 2018 at 6:57 pm

Welcome to the rolling party!

My best advice and recommendation is this: visit your local bike shop! They will not only match you to a bike that meets your needs, but also fits your budget. They will also “fit” you to the bike so that you are riding in safety and comfort, regardless of your physical size. They may have a trade-in program where you can buy a pre-owned bike that has been checked out by their repair shop.

See you along the I-O-Way in July.

Russell Ball, April 14, 2018 at 8:43 pm

Craigslist is your friend if you have some idea of what you are looking for. If that seems too chancey I have purchased new bikes over the internet from bikesdirect and nashbar and been quite pleased with what I got. They did require a little assembly but not much in the way of adjustment. They will also have bikes of the correct size and bikes direct will give sizing advice. Many people sneer at mail order bikes but my experiences have been poitive.