Can I choose indoor camping at the last minute?

I’d prefer my tent and being outdoors if possible. But if needed, are there places with indoor camping available at the last minute when you roll into town? Maybe churches or schools, but I don’t want to reserve in advance.

5 Replies

jwsknk, July 11, 2016 at 4:29 pm

maybe. especially if there is bad weather in the forecast places will open up.

Juan Medium Moose, July 11, 2016 at 5:24 pm

I’m not sure about indoor camping, but there is usually shelter to be found if the weather gets too rough for tents. I’ve only done RAGBRAI twice so far, and the worst weather I’ve seen wasn’t bad enough to send me indoors. Still, such things are possible. If conditions get that extreme, we probably won’t be worrying too much about sleeping. We’ll probably be crammed together hoping that the roof holds up.

I’m not very good at camping, by the way (my kids are much better at it than I am). I panic if there isn’t a shower or clean water for brushing my teeth, and I always pack way too much stuff. I have learned, though, that a decent tent will weather a storm without getting you soaked.

KenH, July 11, 2016 at 10:41 pm