RAGBRAI LI Route Announced on Jan. 27!

climbing/ iowa hills.

I have been riding in the blackhills of sd for 5 years now. And when I first went out there, it was a rude awakening. I have bike all in the rockies, and big mts. But the blackhills were the hardest. And after about 2 years, I can climb good now.

I have herd all this stuff about potter hill. I watched a video,and saw all those folk having trouble climbing potters hill. And they were on road bikes. After climbing 10 to 15% grades for 3 to 4 miles on a mt bike. I think some ole hill in iowa want be much of a problem.

Peoplwe said it was because of all the riders in the way. Nah, that aint so, I saw quiters on that hill.

Please let me know where this potters hill is so I can climb it . However I do realize that it might not be on this years route. But iowa aint flat either. It has a lot of rolling hills in it that adds up over time.

My job will not allow me to ride all of ragbri, but I will try and make a couple of day rides. I wish I could ride the whole thing.One day I will.thanks.

13 Replies

seminole11, January 12, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Hey ya’ll I did a little research on potters hill, and I found out that it is 1.25 in lenth, and a total of 111.33 ft. At an elevation of 1,400 ft. this climb I did at custer sd was at 5,000 ft at the start and 7 miles later was at 6, 500 ft. And the last 4 miles was where all the climbing was.

I did this with beer and groceries in my panniers about 20lbs added to my mt. bike. I did this ride 3 times a week.And to top it off, I did the ride after a gruling 2 hr workout in the gym.

I also did 20 miles on the mickelson trail then drank a few beers and then did the trek up the mt. This was a gruling bike ride.

None of the kids I worked with see how I did it. It was always in the back of your mind when I was working out in the gym. You knew what laid ahead of you.