Exit Strategy for Day 7

I am trying to fly home after the ride out of Moline airport (MLI) back to CA on Saturday evening. Anyone else having trouble getting a late enough flight Saturday afternoon/evening with enough time to ride 69 miles/find luggage/drop my bike off to get boxed and shipped/get shuttle to airport – and still make the flight? I’ve probably just answered my own question, but wondering if anyone else makes that work. I guess otherwise I stay overnight and get and early flight out Sunday. This is my first year flying – in past I could drive and I had a lot of flexibility. Do you other flyers leave Sat evening or Sunday morning?

5 Replies

dxnvy, June 10, 2018 at 4:17 pm

We ALWAYS suggest our guests to fly out of MLI on Sunday after RAGBRAI

Scott Skaja, June 10, 2018 at 5:45 pm

I recommend you stay overnight and fly home Sunday early. I flew home the last day of Ride the Rockies after riding 70 miles in the mountains, packing my bike up in the rain, and getting a shuttle to DIA. It was not very enjoyable and made for a sad way to end a beautiful ride.

Mike Howe, June 10, 2018 at 6:44 pm

Im trying to get to the Moline airport as well, but to pick up a rental car. Was thinking about getting a hotel somewhere near davenport instead and getting a car sunday.

T. Gap Woo, June 11, 2018 at 8:00 am

No matter where the ride ends, Mrs Woo and I get a motel room in the Quad Cities area for that Saturday. After a week of pedaling and, for Mrs Woo, of driving the support car, we both need an overnight cool-down period and a good night’s sleep. Besides, I-80 in the Davenport area is our exit point as we begin our 1300 mile eastbound trip home.

I concur with the earlier recommendations to leave on Sunday. Get a flight that is convenient for you and gives you a chance to relax and unwind. Spare yourself the anxiety that comes with rushing to return. Enjoy the last bit of Iowa bliss!

See you along the I-O-Way in July.

Mark Keele, June 11, 2018 at 9:51 am