First timer

Should I book with an outfitter or just camp on my own
Experienced cyclist plus bike packer
Not really sure how crowded the towns are for camping

7 Replies

czysk, March 24, 2019 at 8:04 pm

First timer, Your registration allows you to put your bag and tent on the Register’s truck and camp in the main camp ground. A charter has a smaller camp ground and may be less crowded. You will make a whole bunch of new friends either way. Enjoy the ride.

Charlie S, March 25, 2019 at 12:23 pm

First timer: I’m a relative newbie (this will be my third RAGBRAI) but I’ve always used a charter. What drove my decision initially was the one bag, 50 lb limit for the Register truck. You can easily keep to 50 pounds total but I found it hard to get everything (tent, sleeping bag, cycling gear, clothes, etc) in one bag. Most charters allow two bags, making things much easier.

As czysk says, the charter groups and campgrounds are much smaller than you’ll find with the RAGBRAI masses. This makes it easier to find your gear at the end of the day, and to find a place to pitch your tent. Most charters offer shade tents and chairs, water, sports drinks morning coffee, a place to dry your gear, charging stations, etc, another plus from my perspective.

There are a lot of choices when it comes to charters. Some, like PBV, offer tents (which they set up for you), pick-up of your gear, meals and on-site shower facilities. Others, like the charters run by local clubs, have more basic offerings. Of course, there is a large difference in cost depending on your choice of service.