PART OF THE USA TODAY NETWORK

goTenna

I’m thinking of purchasing a package of 8 goTennas for my team. Haven’t seen any mention of them on the forums, but the forum search functionality isn’t great.

Just curious if others are using them. The way they work, the more users the better.

This topic was modified 6 months, 3 weeks ago by  John Little.

8 Replies

Sandaltan ., March 23, 2019 at 1:23 pm

goTenna. Beats my string and tin cans.
https://www.pcmag.com/review/343183/gotenna

RIDE RIGHT

John Little, March 23, 2019 at 3:43 pm

I’m just learning about this, but there appears to have been significant advances since it was first introduced.

This is a good recent review (the YouTube video is good too) of what seems to be the latest model.

https://granolashotgun.com/2019/01/21/the-mesh/

This reply was modified 6 months, 3 weeks ago by  John Little.

KenH, March 23, 2019 at 7:06 pm

Can’t recall anyone talking about them. They appear to have enough range to be useful if half or more of the claimed range can be achieved in practice. If no one else is using them they will probably work well this year. I don’t know how much capacity that band has if usage increases in coming years or how much native usage there may be in Iowa towns today that will compete for the available bandwidth. Try to find reviews of them at other large events to get an idea how well they might work on the ride.

John Little, March 23, 2019 at 7:17 pm

Im a total novice on this but have been reading and watching videos all last night and today. The more people that use them in a local area, the better.

I originally heard about this a year or so ago in the context of Appalachian trail hiking, but now see that people are starting to use them at Burning Man and other big events where cell service is crippled or non existent.

Seems like a good thing if it catches on at RAGBRAI.

I’m highly intrigued.

Derek Fye, March 23, 2019 at 9:51 pm

I’ll definitely be trying them out.