High Trestle Trail Bridge

On Tuesday’s route, I was interested in taking a detour to ride over the High Trestle Trail Bridge. Easy path would be take State Highway 17 south out of Luther down to Madrid then get on the trail to Woodward. Then take County Road R18 north up to County Road E57 and take that back to Luther. this would add about 27 miles to the day.

I know the ‘official’ answer (don’t leave the route) Anyone familiar with State Highway 17? I’m not afraid of riding on state highways but I have zero experience on this road and would love some insight(traffic volume, shoulder? etc.)

If I do this I’ll probably add an extra ~10 miles somewhere to make it a Century as well.

11 Replies

Cory Rood, June 22, 2018 at 12:46 pm

Maybe solved 2 issues with one stone. Continue beyond Luther on the route and turn south on County Road R38 to Slater then get on the High Trestle Trail to Woodward, would make the loop 40 miles and would make the day a Century!

Sam, June 22, 2018 at 1:36 pm

I’ve heard several teams say they’re going to ride the Raccoon River Trail to Perry, and then gravel travel thru Bouton to where the trail starts in Woodward. My team took that route in 2013 from Perry.

jake d, June 23, 2018 at 6:27 pm

Hwy 17 has a 4ft. wide paved shoulder so traffic should not be an issues. Just watch for gravel at crossroads. At Madrid the bridge is approx. 3 miles to the west and well worth it. If you stay on the trail east to Slater and take R38 north it hooks back up with the route. Be sure to check out the Flat Tire in Madrid, and the Night Hawk in Slater, both are right on the trail. Now maybe you can help me out. It’s been a few years since I started a thread on this board, and I’ll be darned if I can find a tab to click on. ???

Randall Murphy, June 24, 2018 at 9:06 am

Jake, once you are logged in, scroll to the bottom of the threads. You’ll see that you can start one.

jake d, June 24, 2018 at 1:46 pm