RAGBRAI LI Route Announced on Jan. 27!

How fast do you ride?

I’m a newbie from Florida, excited to join you knuckleheads on Rabbrai…
I’ve just started training and am up to 100 miles a week on my Gary Fisher Marlin MTN bike

The mountain bike has slicks and clipless peddles & 21 speeds but it still moves like a tank dragging an anchor. (It does not help that I’m shaped like a fully deployed spinnaker).

I’m only averaging 10.3 mph!

Hopefully by July I’ll have lost 15-20 pounds to help me move faster.

But those 80 mile days are going to seriously suck if I can’t get up to 13-15 mph average for a few hours of riding.

How fast do you ride on average?

47 Replies

Dint, April 17, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Don’t worry about it. 10 mph will get U through the day with no problems. U have all day to get there. Enjoy the ride.

Jboz, April 17, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Are you planning on taking the MTB on Ragbrai, or are you just using it to train with until you get a road bike? IMHO, a lighter bike will do wonders, and switching alone can probably pick you up 1.5 to 2 mph from where you are now.

longrider42, April 17, 2012 at 5:19 pm

You must remember a Mt. Bike is geared for hills and rough roads with low gear ratio’s. So change out your front chainrings to something like 28/40/52, and change your cassette/freewheel to 11-28 and I think you’ll find you go a bit faster. Also add Bar ends to your handlebars so you can have at least two hand positions. And keep riding!

mentor58, April 17, 2012 at 5:32 pm

PM Sent

Steve

rjjensenia, April 17, 2012 at 6:08 pm

longrider42:
You must remember a Mt. Bike is geared for hills and rough roads with low gear ratio’s. So change out your front chainrings to something like 28/40/52, and change your cassette/freewheel to 11-28 and I think you’ll find you go a bit faster. Also add Bar ends to your handlebars so you can have at least two hand positions. And keep riding!