I'n new at this and need advice

<FONT face=”Times New Roman”>Hello, this is my first time at RAGRBAI. I’m 55 years old and have not been riding for years. I am recovering from cancer and decided it time to get into shape. I’ve been riding almost every day to work & back (10 miles one way, 20 round trip) averaging about 80 miles a week. I already have 350 miles under my belt and my goal is 900 miles before mid July.  I’m hoping to get some weekend 50-60 mile rides in this month. So far I’ve lost about 30 pounds & trimmed the waist line down a few inches. I’m just hope I can keep up with the young kids!  What else do I need to do to tackle the hills and the heat?</FONT>

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office” /><o:p><FONT face=”Times New Roman”> </FONT></o:p>

I’m looking for three wrist bands. (Posted on RAGBRAI Blog) My son and my brother son will be riding with me. I’m new and could use any advice anyone has to offer. What should I bring? I will be driving from <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags” /><st1:place w:st=”on”><st1:City w:st=”on”>Eau Claire</st1:City>, <st1:State w:st=”on”>WI</st1:State></st1:place>.  I want to park at the finish and take the bus to the start and ride back to the car. How much equipment may I bring with me? I understand our equipment will be trucked to each overnight town. Am I missing anything I need to know?   Thanks in advance for your help.

Jim

2 Replies

AnnG, June 4, 2011 at 10:17 am