RAGBRAI LI Day Passes are still available!

Looking for support driver tips.

I’m going to be a support driver for a couple of riders and noting that I have never done this before I thought a few of you could give me some support driver tips. I’ve rode Ragbrai a bunch of times so I’m very familiar with being a rider, just not a driver.

Anyone have any tips or suggestions?

Dale

13 Replies

jwsknk, April 26, 2012 at 2:30 pm

up at the top under “Training” there is a page for “Driver Safety” They also have a meeting in the start town at 4:00 on that Saturday

Michael Knapp, April 26, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Don’t leave the meet up town until all your riders have checked in.

Have an established communication system on how you will post signage on where you will be camped/parked before you go on RAGBRAI. And a back up plan. You might want to pre-print notice signs with space to print specific directions or messages so that your postings are easily recognized by your team.

Invest in a set of walkie talkies for you and one of your riders so that you can communicate in towns and not have to worry about getting cellphone tone.

Have something distinctive on your vehicle so that the riders can find you.

Take naps, eat leisurely breakfasts, but don’t drink and drive.

Set up a kitty so that you have prearranged funds for gassing up vehicle and restocking coolers with ice, beer, pop, etc. Gives you something to do during the day while you’re waiting for your riders to come in.

giantron, April 26, 2012 at 7:46 pm

I highly recommend that you get into the end town, setup, and TEXT message your team where you are. After a few years of this we’ve found that is pretty much the only reliable method. Texts eventually get through, especially since the drivers always get into the end town way before the masses do, and way before the cell towers get overloaded.