RAGBRAI XLIX registration is now open!

mornings: what to expect?

RAGBRAI newbie here; my wife and I are going with Pork Belly Ventures, so if there’s a notable different answer from PBV peeps (I wouldn’t expect so, but well, assumptions), let me know.

If I’m reading this chart right, sunrise at RAGBRAI is right around 6am, and it starts getting light around 5:30am. I know PBV wants us out of our tents by 7am, so okay, that’s one hard datapoint. But I’m wondering about averages:
* when do most people start waking up?
* when do the roads start getting crowded with people heading out?

I’m more concerned about crowds than being the first. I’m not exactly a morning person nor a strong cyclist, so I’m not one of those “wakeup at 5am, hit the road at 6am to tack on a bonus 50 miles” types. :) But since we’re on a tandem, we can’t maneuver all that well around crowds, so I’m wondering what I should be expecting. (I’m expecting that, by mid-day, it’ll be a zoo, and I should just relax and go with it. But I’m hoping that at least the first leg won’t be crazy.)

Also, since I like my beauty sleep, well, that means I need to hit the sack early enough, so I’m trying to figure out what I should plan for.

Thanks in advance!

7 Replies

Amanda, June 28, 2017 at 11:22 am

I will say it is more crowded in the morning. At least until the first breakfast town. So the first day I would think it will be a little less crazy after Paullina. But then again, it’s the first day and there will be a lot of first time riders riding just that day. If you leave at 6, it’s more crowded on the road than it is at 7-8. But if you are with a group that wants to be on the road, make sure your stuff is packed and on the truck by 6:45 at the latest. Big groups appreciate it if everyone follows their rules.
Our group is 9 riders. It’s like herding cats some days!!!??

jwsknk, June 28, 2017 at 1:05 pm