RAGBRAI LI Day Passes are still available!

Need new Wheel set

CRAP! I just found out I need to replace my Mavic Kysirum Elite’s. I don’t want to fork out the $1000+. Does Anyone have any thoughts on Fulcrum Racing 5CX, SRAM S27 or the Shimano R530?

19 Replies

Paul, April 11, 2012 at 7:50 pm

I would go with the ZIPP 808 Firecrest Carbon Clincher in the front and the ZIPP 900 Disc Clincher in the rear, pretty much standard equipment for RAGBRAI :-D

Csprint, April 11, 2012 at 11:06 pm

The Fulcrums certainly always have nice bearings as they are built by Campagnolo to fit other shifting systems. The Shimanos tend to be a bit heavy. I’ve no experience with the SRAM.

If on a tighter budget look at Neuvation wheels, he’s had a bunch on sale lately.

Corey

Iceman, April 12, 2012 at 8:37 am

I just had a set of wheels built. Stans Alpha 340 rims (fairly light) and Campy Record hubs. The Stans rims will run either regular clincher (with tubes)tires or tubeless clincher tires (Hutchinson Fusion 3 tires). Cost me about $600 having Colorado Cyclist build them. It’s a no lose situation trying the tubeless clinchers – smoother ride at lower pressure, no pinch flats since no tubes, less rolling resistance than tubed tires. What’s not to like?

“Bicycle Bill”, April 12, 2012 at 10:12 am

Paul
:
I would go with the ZIPP 808 Firecrest Carbon Clincher in the front and the ZIPP 900 Disc Clincher in the rear, pretty much standard equipment for RAGBRAI:-D
(end sarcasm)

Fixed it for ya, Paul.

-“BB”-

Tony, April 12, 2012 at 12:46 pm