Packing advice: What to bring, what to leave behind?

Hi all,

Before I get started on work this morning, I’m doing a little daydreaming/planning about the RAGBRAI adventure, and as a newbie, I thought I’d throw this out there:

What have you found unexpectedly useful on your trip in the past? Any necessities or “luxury” items that you’d say are especially valuable, that are not necessarily obvious to the newcomer?

Conversely, anything you recommend leaving at home? When I rode my first century last year I realized I could have done without the Gu’s in my jersey pocket — we were plenty well-fed at every rest stop. πŸ™‚

How many changes of gear do you tend to bring? I’m going with a charter (PBV) so I think there will be laundry opportunities, and I want fresh jersey and shorts every day, but I don’t want to over- or under-pack.

Thanks in advance!

69 Replies

jwsknk, April 20, 2015 at 8:14 am

I take 4 sets of riding gear, try to rinse out every night but things don’t always dry after 9pm., they can be wetter in the morning.
Only pack 1 pair of socks, mostly in case it gets cold at night. the clean stuff stays in waterproof bags until needed. I leave 1 set of clean cloths for the bus ride home, But I load the truck and it often 100+ back in there for the hour or so it takes to unload and reload bike.
Don’t usually carry any food, most towns about 10 miles apart and usually stands between. If there is a really long stretch 20 miles or so, they make sure there is something about half way.
Luxury or necessity, ear plugs, sleep mask,(hello streetlight over your tent), small fan. A little bit of duct tape or electrical tape wrapped around something, not on the original roll.

RoyBoy, April 20, 2015 at 9:01 am

Bring microfiber towels instead of cotton towels. Even better, use a shower service so you don’t have any wet towels of your own. Use a microfiber towel to wipe up any rain water that gets into your tent.

Mrs H, April 20, 2015 at 9:41 am