Join Us in July - Register Today!

Rain Gear

I started riding again after 40 years and I’m a first time rider to RAGBRAI. While sitting here watching it rain this question came to mind. Does anyone have good advice on rain gear? How about having more than one pair of shoes?

Bob

21 Replies

Niles, April 26, 2017 at 6:07 pm

my 2 cents: don’t be over prepared!

Only pack light-weight rain jacket. One pair of riding shoes only.

RDaryl Daryl, April 26, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Most late July storms in Iowa pass in an hour or two. I recall a day on RAGBRAI when some from our team rode in rain all day. My brother an I waited less than an hour at a house along the route until most of the rain had passed that morning. Eventually, the two of us were riding in sunshine for most of that day.
Crumpled newspaper can be used to absorb dampness from shoes overnight.

Gypsy Rose, April 26, 2017 at 7:11 pm

There are those of us who fondly (NOT!) remember Soggy Monday, as it came to be known, in 1981.

Setting aside that anomaly, preparing for rain on RABRRAI is not a major concern. You can either choose to ride during the passing showers, or decide instead to wait it out under cover. (Being in no rush, I tend to choose the later.)

The memories of Soggy Monday persist, however, and I have to admit that I do carry a very lightweight rain shell on my rear rack, but I have yet to use it.

Cheers,
~ Kevin

Mike Murphy, April 26, 2017 at 10:18 pm

Rain Gear…..we don’t need no stinking rain gear. That has been my attitude on Ragbrai and for all but a day or two I have been correct. My worst day was three years ago when I started out in a cold rain and it stayed cold and raining almost the entire day, I think I saw less than five other riders with no rain gear on. I remember hanging out in a schools cafeteria for at least an hour and I have never been so cold. So other than a day like that, I say Rain gear…..I don’t need no stinking rain gear. I leave it at home…….