Rain?!

I’m a newbie, and I live in the 2nd driest state where it NEVER rains! How often will it rain? Is it a hot rain or cool? Should I pack my rain gear to ride or just ride and get wet? Garbage bag? Rain poncho? Rain pants?

16 Replies

KenH, May 15, 2018 at 4:27 pm

I’ve done the last six RAGBRAIs and have had significant daytime rain twice in that time. Last year we knew it was coming and just sat it out in a shelter in a town park. In 2014 it was going to be a long rain so we just set out in the morning. That was a cold, soaking rain. People were lying on the school gym floor, shivering uncontrollably from hypothermia in the town where we stopped for breakfast. The lightning started as we were eating so we retired to the school hallways to sit out the lightning. When the thunder stopped it took the rain with it but the wind became fierce.

I am going to say you want to bring a light rain jacket to keep you warm should you need to ride in a significant rainstorm. I am sixty something, I’ve lived in this part of the midwest (near but not in Iowa) my entire life, and I’ve been in exactly one warm rainstorm. That was decades ago during a high school track practice. If it’s raining the rain will be cool to cold, the air will often be chilled, and if the wind picks up while you are wet you will think it is winter … unless you’ve lived through one of our winters and then you know better! I’ve seen it go for the full week without a drop on the road but you cannot count on that. Overnight rains have been much more common during the RAGBRAIs I have participated in. Make sure your tent is ready for some rain too!

DAVIDCOVER, May 15, 2018 at 5:28 pm