Registration deadline extended to April 15 for weeklong rider, weeklong non-rider, and vehicles passes!

Shabbat Dinner?

Want to let folks know that Agudas Achim, a reform Jewish congregation will host a special RAGBRAI shabbat dinner on Friday night July 27 to welcome riders (Jews and non-Jews) and their families to their area. Their address is 401 E Oakdale Blvd in Coralville, just outside of Iowa City. Vegetarian dinner will start at 6:00 and shabbat services will be at 7:30. Dress will be very casual.

Personally, I am looking forward to all the things that Iowa has to offer (the beer tents, the the homemade ice cream, the pies) and to connecting to the people of Iowa. And that includes finding out about a Jewish community along the way. No better way than to experience a bit of shabbat with them. I am a newbie to RAGBRAI but I think by Friday I will be ready for something that is more familiar and soothing before hitting the road for the last day!

If you have questions, ask John Wertz at secretary@agudasachimic.org or at 319.337.3813. If you are interested, please RSVP to John. Thanks wish RAGBRAI participants, families, friends, and team mates (whether Jewish or not). This will be a vegetarian dinner starting at 6:00 p.m. Shabbat services will start at 7:30 p.m. for folks interested in staying for that.

5 Replies

KenH, July 10, 2018 at 12:43 pm

Thanks for the head’s up! I’m not Jewish and not a vegetarian but if I am welcome at the service after dinner I will try to attend that.