PART OF THE USA TODAY NETWORK

Sleeping pad suggestions?

Excited newbie here. I was wondering if anyone has any comfortable, yet packable sleeping pad suggestions? It can be for two people or one. I recently went camping and my old therm-a-rest sleeping pad wasn’t cutting it. For more background info we will be flying in and using Pork Belly Ventures. Is the Exped MegaMat overkill? Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

14 Replies

David Mackinnon, May 15, 2019 at 12:00 pm

The Exped provides me a sleep as good as my Sleep Number bed. I too use PBV and one duffel with my sleeping pad, pillow, sheet and blanket/fleece is perfect.

Geoff Butland, May 15, 2019 at 12:01 pm

Hi! Considering you don’t have to lug it around (much) anything that fits in your luggage is fair game. I have a couple of therma-rest mattresses, but the one I take on RAGBRAI is a “basecamp” model that is wider and thicker than the one I take backpacking. Not quite plush, but plenty comfortable for a week, and it fits in my duffel with the tent. I see a lot of air mattresses on the ride too. The campsites have been universally flat, level, and grassy. Think church lawns, town parks, golf courses….that is the kind of “campsite” you’ll be dealing with. Have a great ride!

davekilloran, May 15, 2019 at 1:58 pm

I think the Exped is fine. I am also with PBV, this will be 4 years now. I pack one duffel with a Thermarest Dreamtime pad, sleeping bag, pillow, Helinox zero camp chair, fan ( with extra batteries) and headlamp. 2nd duffel is for all my riding gear. PBV takes care of the day to day tent and bag transfer. Enjoy the ride!

Craig Parson, May 17, 2019 at 7:08 am

I like my Klymit pad. In fact I bought more than one. Packs small inflates easily and they are reasonably priced. No reason to pay for high R-value in summer.

cyduke, May 17, 2019 at 9:16 am