The Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa

Solo first timer in need of charter recommendations!

Hello!
I am a 25 year old grad student from Minnesota having trouble navigating all the team and charter options. I am first time Solo Rider looking for a fun, easy-going, laid back team/charter maybe with some younger members.
Any advice or recomendations would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Allison

8 Replies

George A, April 12, 2017 at 2:15 pm

It depends on what is important to you. There are charters that handle everything, but for a price. Others provide the bare minimum but give you the sense of being in group instead of completely on your own as when you use the Registers trucks to haul your gear. You may be able to find a smaller charter or team that has a younger average age. If having more people your age is important I would probably stay away from the larger charters that give you everything under the sun for amenities. The average age of those groups tend to be older. If age is not as important I think the larger, more established Charters make it very easy for first time riders. With that being said I think using a Charter, or going with a team, would make sense for a first timer. It takes out some of the logistical issues that you would otherwise have to deal with on your own.

While I currently ride with a small team of about 25 I personally have used Brancel in the past and would recommend them to anyone without hesitation.

Realize that no matter what group you go with you may end up meeting many people during the day that become a group all it’s own.

KenH, April 12, 2017 at 3:03 pm