Training…and so it began.

So I started training a few weeks ago, for my first Ragbrai, with a few 5-10 mile rides. Mixed in going to the gym as it was still cold…still is. Felt like I was making progress and all x!#* broke lose. Now, gyms are closed so no going there. Question…What is everyone doing to train in the hopes Ragbrai isn’t cancelled? I’m still riding and did my first 15 miler the other day but I’m looking for ideas on days riding isn’t in the cards. Thanks and ride on!!

24 Replies

Jeff Hansen, March 28, 2020 at 11:07 am

All I do is ride about 3 times a week I will increase the length as time goes on. I try to get any where from about 800 miles and up I feel good about riding for the week.

Larry Hansen, March 28, 2020 at 11:09 am

Its been just cold or wet enough here to not want to ride much either, so have been getting plenty of walking in, and just like when biking find a few hills to get the heart rate up.

Kurt Hand, March 28, 2020 at 12:22 pm

Use the first day of RAGBRAI as training for the second day…and so on until you finish sore and tired..but finished. 🙂

This reply was modified 6 months, 3 weeks ago by Kurt Hand.

Eric Strobel, March 28, 2020 at 6:39 pm

I’m not sure at 59 I would make it with that kind of training Kurt:) Did 17 miles today. I like the idea of mixing in a couple of hikes with some elevation gain. Have that here in Northern AZ.

Mike Murphy, March 28, 2020 at 7:54 pm

This will be my 11th Ragbrai and nothing beats riding for training. The more miles you get in the easier it will be for you. I always suggest around 1200 miles before Ragbrai but I know it will be hard for some to do that. You don’t want it to be a struggle getting through the week. I see some who didn’t get miles in and they do not enjoy it. Ride, ride, ride, set mileage goals for each month and hit them. You do that and the ride will be fun and you will be able to enjoy all the festivities. You want to enjoy it, there is nothing like it,