The Register's Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa

Using Tubeless Tires for the Ride

What are your thoughts about using tubeless tires for the ride?

6 Replies

Derek Fye, July 5, 2019 at 7:29 am

I know people that always run tubeless. With all the pinch flats I’ve been getting lately, I’m strongly considering always running tubeless.

mootsman, July 5, 2019 at 8:59 am

I have been running all tubeless for many years including the year of the 1st gravel loop. Tubeless are great in that they eliminate pinch flats which I’d guess would be the #1 cause of flats on gravel. I’ve gone as much as 14,000 miles without a flat on tubeless (changing out worn out tires of course).

I’ve used tubeless on RAGBRAI since 2013.

The only trouble I had was when I first went to 25s. The particular tire manufacturer just made their 23s wider but instead of making the center section wider, they made it wider at the beads. So I was running partially on the sidewalls which caused lots of flats back in 2014/15. About as many flats as I;d get on tubed tires in a typical year. I went back to 23s for a time which stopped the flats. The manufacturer has since re-designed the 25s to be wider in the mid section and the flats stopped on the 25s also.

The only use I have for tubes now is to carry along in case I get a flat on a tubed tire which is usually from a large cut. So I need to boot the tire also. And I when time allows I patch the tire on the inside to stop the cut in the casing from expanding and then going tubeless again. But cut tires really should be replaced long term.

This reply was modified 1 month, 2 weeks ago by  mootsman.

mootsman, July 5, 2019 at 9:09 am

Oh, and if yo go tubeless make sure your rims were designed to be tubeless compatible. Some non-tubeless rims will hold air after putting on tubeless rim strip but not reliably. So never depend on a rim that was not designed as tubeless. They could “burp” out air of fail completely.

mootsman, July 5, 2019 at 9:13 am