RAGBRAI LI Route Announced on Jan. 27!

Walking up the hills

Ok so I’m a veteran hill walker. Living where I do in NJ there are literally no hills to train on. If I go to my parents there are 3 rather small hills. So just curious what people seriously think of those of us who have to hop off half way to walk up the rest of the way? Do you view us as wimps? Quitters?

I personally don’t see it as quitting or being a wimp. You are still getting a workout and you are doing what it takes to get to the top and keep moving on. I’ll be honest I weigh well over 200lbs so I say my even attempting to do this is something to be applauded. I guess I’m just worried about people judging me for walking up the hills. I’ve seen people call hill walkers sissies and other names so it kind of is bothering me right now.

49 Replies

bruceday, March 23, 2012 at 7:51 am

Don’t let their personal ego issues ruin your enjoyment. Walk or ride up hills as you choose or are able. Most people would not even consider riding for 450 mils anyway, so you should have people’s respect.

Michrider !!!, March 23, 2012 at 8:07 am

Don’t worry what others think!!! I’ve walked up the big hill last year and the one in 2010! At least we’re out there moving and not sitting on the couch!!!!

Sandaltan ., March 23, 2012 at 8:10 am

You are not walking up a hill. You are cross training.

If you are worried about what people think of YOU just take a close look at what EVERYONE else is wearing!!!

RIDE RIGHT

RonB, March 23, 2012 at 8:38 am

You will have plenty of company. Lots of walkers on hills of any size. Don’t sweat it (well, you will actually be sweating it), just do it! Just be sure to stay on the shoulder or as far right as possible.

Tony, March 23, 2012 at 9:18 am