What happens after the last days ride

Hi there,
Needless to say this is my first time riding. I am really looking forward to it. So the questoin I have is what happens after the ride on Saturday. Do people stay in town or do most end the ride and head back to the start or else where? Is there big party and concert?

Trying to make plans, any help very much appreciated

Hillary

13 Replies

Cory Rood, May 6, 2019 at 7:35 pm

a small percentage will stay Saturday night. a small percentage will head back to the start town. the majority will embark on their travels to get home. there won’t be activities into the night like the rest of the overnight towns.

Bob Seiple, May 6, 2019 at 8:06 pm

Largely depends on where you have left your car. If you’ve left a vehicle in Council Bluffs, than Sat afternoon is spent on the bus back to Council Bluffs. If you have your vehicle in Keokuk, there are lots of options, but I don’t think there is the big party like the other overnights.

T. Gap Woo, May 6, 2019 at 9:53 pm

Good evening, Ms Hall, and welcome to the party!

Mrs Woo is my support driver, so we always have the car at the end of the ride.

Since Davenport and I-80 are our entry/exit points coming from the east, we always book a motel room in advance somewhere in metropolitan Davenport. A hot shower and a good night’s sleep sure make a positive difference.

When we finished in Davenport last year, we walked around the downtown and riverfront area, pigging out at the farmers market and visiting the little shops in the former railroad warehouse. Unfortunately, this area is currently flooded 😢.

We found an ice cream parlor in East Davenport that featured buttered-corn—flavored ice cream! It was TDF!

Then we drove upriver to LeClaire. Visits to the Wide River Winery shop, the popcorn store and the candy store are a tradition with us, as is a trip to Antique Archaeology to check out the rusty gold.