What is the best bike for your buck?

I’ve been looking into buying a road/hybrid bike for RAGBRAI this year. I’m new to the bike scene and have about $550 to invest in a bike. been looking at treks at my local bike shop, along with models on-line specifically the Fuji Absolute 3.0(2011 or 2012). dose anyone know about this bike and is there a better bike for your buck?

Thanks.

61 Replies

Davy Sprocket, February 15, 2012 at 11:00 pm

I have to be honest, my buck doesn’t ride anything other than other deer. He is very particular however. Seems like he is always chasing a little white tail.

Oh, you mean’t bicycle for the dollar. LOL. Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

I bought my wife a trek 1000 about 5-rabrais ago for about $550 and it is still going strong. I would ask why you are looking for a hybrid? What type of riding do you normally do? That is the key. Hybrids are great if you don’t want to be bend over and getting after it. I am sure many will suggest a certain make or model, but the bottom line is that YOU need to hit up the local bike shops that you trust and try a few on for size. Pick the one YOU like.

Good luck!

GetAClue Blue, February 16, 2012 at 9:11 am