RAGBRAI LI Route Announced on Jan. 27!

what is the best bike for your buck?

I’ve been looking into buying a road/hybrid bike for RAGBRAI this year. I’m new to the bike scene and have about $550 to invest in a bike. been looking at treks at my local bike shop, along with models on-line specifically the Fuji Absolute 3.0(2011 or 2012). dose anyone know about this bike and is there a better bike for your buck?

Thanks.

17 Replies

Csprint, March 5, 2012 at 1:29 am

Hey Guy,
The Trek 1.1 road bike is okay. (I had two or three
customers who were quite pleased with it). I would go
just the little bit more and get a road bike, as you
will be happier with it in the long run. At the
very least, remember that a road bike gives you three
hand positions, a hybrid only one.

As with all bikes, how happy you are with it has a
almost direct ratio to how well it is adjusted when
it goes out the door. It should be well adjusted both
on the test ride and when you take it home. Make sure the
saddle is about 2/3rds of the way back in the clamp
(depending how you’re sized). The saddle level.
The handlebar drops ends pointing slightly down, the line
bisecting the rear triangle. If they charge extra to
fit you, say in a stationary trainer, or by calculating
seat height and so on, it’s probably worth it.

I wouldn’t be afraid of used bikes, either. Just
have to be careful with the sizing. Sometimes a good
deal can be had.

In regard to sizing, and to make sure a bike fits: Here
Have a significant other help with the measurements.

Cheers!
Corey

longrider42, March 23, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Having ridden the roads in Iowa, I think a Hybrid or a Mt. bike fitted with road tires would be a good thing. As for the handle bars only having one hand position, you can fix that with either Bar Ends, or why not put a set of road bars on said hybrid or Mt. Bike. Either way, road bikes are nice if you dont mind the pain they cause after many many miles on them :)

ehlent, March 23, 2012 at 8:45 pm