Who's Checked Their Bike on an Airplane?

I was wondering what folk’s experience is with checking their bikes on airline flights? I would box it like I would ship it (obviously). Seriously, I won’t try to carry it on and jam it in the overhead!

It looks like it would cost a conventional luggage fee versus which is way less than shipping it via Shipbikes or other comparable service. However, if most people’s experience is they get a deformed and broken High tech garbage heap at the other end or simply don’t get anything at all I will reconsider this otherwise brilliant sounding plan…

Thanks and Ride Right!

28 Replies

Scott J, June 26, 2013 at 10:30 pm

I have no experience with checking a bike on a flight. But I investigated the cost and decided it was much cheaper for two of us and far less risky to the bikes to drive from California (San Diego) to Omaha. So that’s what we are doing. We have friends, relatives or reward point hotels along the way, both to and from. That helps immensely. And I have no job that interferes or limits my time. I’ve seen what the airlines can do to a very rugged luggage bag and I’m not about to turn my bike over to them. From what I read, if you don’t have a hard case and remove the handlebars, pedals and derailleurs you may regret it. Re-assembling the bike at the destination introduces its own problems.

jwsknk, June 27, 2013 at 8:05 am

Flew with one to London & back, Sydney & back and to New Orleans. Coming home from London it missed the connection in Chicago and came delivered to my door the next day. Just had to remove pedals, turn handlebars and remove front wheel. Got an old skewer from the bike shop to use as a spacer for the front fork and made sure deraliures were as far in as possible and had some extra packing between rear wheel and rear deraliure. Your other option is to use RAGBRAI’s shipper and pick it up in Council Bluffs and they will have boxes at the end to ship back home

Iceman, June 27, 2013 at 8:11 am