Join Us in July - Register Today!

Access to power ?

Hi – I’m a RAGBRAI newbie, and was wondering if anyone could tell me what kind of access to power along the route there is, whether at the campsites or along the route. I have a “travel cpap” that I sleep with, and it has a rechargeable battery, just not sure where/when I can recharge it.

4 Replies

hnschipper, June 11, 2021 at 2:29 pm

If you are staying in the main campgrounds, I wouldn’t count on any access to power. Some charters do provide charging stations.

tdubya500, June 12, 2021 at 7:21 am

Finding power can be an issue but you can usually find somewhere to charge your stuff.
Most of the main campgrounds are at schools and a lot of the time the schools will be open, or there are outlets on the exterior of the building.
I recommend bringing a power strip because a lot of the time the outlets you find are taken.

KenH, June 14, 2021 at 8:52 am

I cannot speak for every RV owner but if someone shows up at my motorhome with a medical device that needs charging I will start up the generator and let you use the exterior outlet. I think that most people would do the same and a lot of townspeople will let you use the exterior outlets at their homes. If you are with a charter they will almost certainly have a generator for charging phones and you could use that.

ppayne1959, June 14, 2021 at 11:59 am

Don’t sweat it. I have been camping with the plebe’s for 7 years straight. There is always power, you will just need to do a little hunting. Could be in a building, could be on the exterior of a building. The biggest issue is typically when you find it, there is a rats nest other devices already connected. The smartest thing to do is bring a short 4 or 5 port power strip with you so you can patch in. People will appreciate the open outlets as well. I have often left mine out there over night so people can stay plugged in and it has never been stolen. Best part of RAGBRAI is the community.